Bristol, England-based post-punk band Maximum Joy were formed in 1979 by trumpeter and saxophonist Tony Wrafter -- following the breakup of his previous band Glaxo Babies -- and vocalist and clarinetist Janine Rainforth. Bassist Dan Catsis and drummer Charlie Llewellin, both of whom were also in Glaxo Babies, eventually joined up, as did former Pop Group guitarist John Waddington. There were some lineup changes during the band's short existence, including the addition of a young Nellee Hooper. Signed to the Y label, Maximum Joy issued a trio of 12" and 7" singles, highlighted by "Stretch," prior to recording Station MXJY (1982), their lone album, with Adrian Sherwood. Following the release of a Dennis Bovell-produced cover of Timmy Thomas' "Why Can't We Live Together," the band split. The anthology Unlimited (1979-1983) was issued a couple decades later. Wrafter, Rainforth, and Llewellin reactivated the band to perform at Bristol's Simple Things Festival 2015. ~ Andy Kellman, Rovi

Maximum Joy - Y Records - 1982
Maximum Joy - Stretch
Maximum Joy
Stretch (12" Version)
Silent Street / Silent Dub
Searching for a Feeling
Maximum Joy live at the Lexington - edited extracts
Download SoundHound
The only App that can give you results through singing and humming search!
You can sing any song from this artist to help SoundHound users find it!